A wee bit of a rant…


So I found myself the unexpected recipient of a 2 week paid holiday. Silly me, I completely forgot about paid holidays and was told by my bosses that it had to be taken before the end of March. I’ve got another week and a half to take sometime during March (if, if, if). See, the big if is related to whether or not I stay at my current job, a thought which has been a bit of a nag during this time off work.

I’m not generally an unhappy person, to be honest. I am often pessimistic but I like to define it further as being happily pessimistic. It is often much easier for me to set my expectations low and have them surpassed than dare to believe in something magnificent happening only to have my soul crushed. This is because I’ve still not developed thick ‘writer’s skin’. So even though I am cheerful about my future as a whole despite knowing that I may never achieve greatness or even any considerable financial success (these are not very important to me on the whole, though I understand our culture rates them above other things, because for now I just want to be happy), I find myself more and more downtrodden at my current job.

It is because within that position I am a waitress/ Manager on Duty, and to be perfectly frank, waitressing is one of the few jobs in which the people you deal with daily don’t particularly care about revealing the qualities they might otherwise hide from the rest of the human race (snobbishness, rudeness, the tendency to believe that other humans are the scum under your shoe, etc, etc). It’s true that while being a waitress I have seen customers be genuinely more caring than people would generally show as well. But there are a lot more jerks out there than nice guys. True examples:

  • “Ah, you’ve done a masters? I didn’t know that waitresses needed such qualifications!”- said with a snicker and glace over to the other suit-types sitting around the table.
  • During a trial of an inane beeper system where the customers can press a button to get their waitresses attention: “Yeah, so, like, you’re kind of our dog.”
  • “Well, your parents must be very disappointed that you’ve come all this way, completed not just an undergraduate degree but also a masters and can only find work in hospitality. Did you fail?”

My grandmother raised me to believe that one can say anything if it is said with a smile. These people and countless others like them are proof that, in fact, this is not always true.

Anyway, the point is, I’ve been MIA because I’ve been looking for work that won’t make me feel a piece of my soul blacken up and fall off every time I walk in the doors. Sorry for that.

Leave a Reply

